July 9: Province Signs Climate Action Statement


The Minister Responsible for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency signed the Climate Action Statement on behalf of Newfoundland and Labrador. The Statement, signed by 22 subnational governments and cities, includes a commitment to GHG reduction targets at a jurisdictional level and to join or endorse up to three global initiatives to promote sub-national efforts to reduce GHG emissions. Each jurisdiction may undertake action related to one or more of these commitments as appropriate to its circumstances.