May 3: New Aquatic Species at Risk Announced


The government announced that nine more aquatic species will receive protection under the Species at Risk Act. The species to be listed, for the first time, include five freshwater fishes, two marine mammals, one sea turtle and one mollusc. Also, the St. Lawrence Estuary population of Beluga whale will be reclassified from Threatened to Endangered. And the Leatherback Sea Turtle will be separated into two population units, both of which will remain listed as Endangered. The species to be protected or reclassified were published in the Canada Gazette, Part II, on May 3, 2017.